Association News: FGIA recognizes industry leaders for excellence, marketing, more during inaugural FGIA Annual Conference

Posted on February 12th, 2020

The Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance (FGIA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the inaugural FGIA Annual Conference Awards Banquet held Tuesday night in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions, which serve to progress the work of the industry overall.1FGIAawards_MikeBurk-HelenSanders-RandiErnst-web.jpeg

Glazing Outstanding Service Award – Mike Burk (Sparklike) and Randi Ernst (FDR Design)

Mike Burk, North American Technical Representative for Sparklike, and Randi Ernst, President of FDR Design, were both awarded the Glazing Outstanding Service Award. The two were presented with their awards by Helen Sanders, Strategic Business Development for Technoform.

The Glazing Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

"Anyone who has met Mike has witnessed his humor and generosity, and has been touched by his unfailing ability to lend a hand and put others first," said Sanders. "He never just sits and watches. He is always lending a hand with the critical back-room equipment or helping carry out events."

Burk, a 25-year veteran in the technical and training areas of the insulating glass industry, is the Chair of the Glass Safety Awareness Council. He also has served on the Technical Services Committee.

"No slouch in technical development himself, Randy has filed for patents for his inventions of a thermal conductivity sensor for analyzing the contents of sealed packages or insulated glass units, and a glass edge sealant curing system," said Sanders. "He also founded his own company in 1988, providing IG glass filling and testing equipment."

Ernst, an inaugural member of the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance (IGMA), has been very active in a total of nine committees and task groups over the years, including two chair roles.

Fenestration Outstanding Service Award – Mark Silverberg (Technoform)

2FGIAawards_MarkSilverbergAndDonnieHunter-web.jpegMark Silverberg, President of Technoform North America, was awarded the Fenestration Outstanding Service Award. He was presented with his award by Donnie Hunter, Director of Global Product Management for Kawneer.

The Fenestration Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

"Mark has reached the peak of involvement as a member of the board of directors," said Hunter. "On the board, he has worked to expand industry-wide participation in addressing issues surrounding windows and glazing."

A third-generation member of the glazing and fenestration industry, Silverberg has been involved since 1984. He started his own company in 2004 and has been active with the association for more than 30 years.

Architectural Distinguished Service Award – Carl Troiano (Trojan Powder Coatings)

3FGIAawards_RobertJutrasAndCarlTroiano-web.jpegThe Architectural Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carl Troiano, President of Trojan Powder Coatings, by previous award recipient Robert Jutras, Principal Engineer, Building Envelope Performance for CLEB Laboratory.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Council.

"Carl started in the industry while still in high school, signing up with his dad's 1959-vintage patio furniture company," said Jutras. "By 1990, he had reinvented the business to focus on coil coating. He is now president of the firm, which has since grown to encompass three locations."

Troiano has been closely involved in the standards for finishing for all materials and has been immersed in details, such as accelerated weathering, abrasion resistance and color retention and more.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Mark Mikkelson (Andersen Corporation)

4FGIAawards_MarkMikkelson-web.jpgThe Residential Distinguished Service Award was presented to Mark Mikkelson, Director, Corporate Regulatory Affairs, for Andersen Corporation, by previous award recipient Mark Fortun, Manager, Code Compliance, for Endura Products, Inc. Michelle Hunt accepted the award on Mikkelson's behalf, as he was unable to attend.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Council is recognized with this distinction.

"Mark is your go-to guy for fast and accurate answers if you have any questions about local, state, national or international codes," said Fortun. "He is well recognized for his leadership role, as well as his ability to collaborate with his colleagues throughout the fenestration industry and in the code development community."

Mikkelson currently serves on the FGIA Board of Directors as well as on the Western Region Board.

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – John Westerfield (CrystaLite)

5FGIAawards_JohnWesterfieldAndJoshWignall-web.jpegThe Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to John Westerfield, Marketing, Web Development and Code Compliance Officer for CrystaLite, by previous recipient Josh Wignall, Director of Marketing for EFCO Corporation.

This award acknowledges a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

"John's participation with AAMA reflects an important duality," said Wignall. "He is effective in marketing, but he is also well-grounded in the technical details. Known for being a multitasker at his company, he creates and manages product literature and website development, but is also responsible for product testing and certification."

Westerfield has served on four committees and task groups, of late pushing for more active new member recruitment efforts through the Skylight/Sloped Glazing Marketing Committee.

Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award – Jeff Haberer (Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions)

6FGIAawards_DavidCooperAndJeffHaberer-web.jpegThe Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jeff Haberer, Technical Manager for Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions, by Dave Cooper, Principal at DJ Cooper Consulting.

"A pillar of our industry, Jeff leads our Technical Services Committee and has served as an IGMA Board member," said Cooper. "He is dedicated to the work of our organization."

Haberer is also a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity.


For more information about FGIA and its activities, visit

Your trusted industry resource, setting the standards for fenestration and glazing.

Filed under: EFCO, Events, FGIA, People, Technoform

Story Resources

Photo 1: Mike Burk, Helen Sanders and Randi ErnstPhoto 2: Mark Silverberg and Donnie HunterPhoto 3: Robert Jutras and Carl TroianoPhoto 4: John Westerfield and Josh WignallWord documentZipped folder of six images and a Word document.Request high res photographs for publication