Association News: AAMA recognizes industry leaders for excellence, marketing, more during 82nd Annual Conference

Posted on February 27th, 2019

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 82nd Annual Conference Awards Banquet held Tuesday night in Palm Springs, California. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions, which serve to progress the work of the industry overall.

Outstanding Member Award – Mike DeSoto (MI Windows and Doors)AAMA19-OutstandingMemberAward-MikeDeSotoAtRight-CommendedByDougHolmberg_web.JPG

Mike DeSoto (pictured at right), chief operating officer for MI Windows and Doors, was named Outstanding Member, as presented by former recipient Doug Holmberg, quality manager at Apogee Enterprises, Inc./Wausau Window and Wall Systems.

The Outstanding Member Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

DeSoto, current chairman of the AAMA Board of Directors, maintains 52 active committee and task group memberships.

"Mike eats, sleeps and drinks windows," said Holmberg. "This interest has found profitable expression through AAMA. Today, we recognize and thank him for his service to AAMA and our industry."

Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Robert Jutras (CLEB Laboratory, Inc.)

AAMA19-APGDistinguishedServiceAward-RobertJutrasAtRight-CommendedByDonnieHunter_web.JPGThe Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group was presented to Robert Jutras (pictured at right), principal engineer, building envelope performance for CLEB Laboratory, Inc., by previous award recipient Donnie Hunter, director of global product management for Kawneer.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Jutras has been involved in a total of 58 councils, committees and task groups during his nine years of AAMA activism.

"A born engineer, he is insatiably inquisitive about how things work and inventive about how to make them better, often in a new way," said Hunter.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Mark Fortun (Endura Products, Inc.)

AAMA19-RPGDistinguishedServiceAward-MarkFortunAtRight -CommendedByJeffFranson_web.JPGThe Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group was presented to Mark Fortun (pictured at right), manager of code compliance for Endura Products, Inc., by former recipient Jeff Franson, senior director, product development and advanced technology for Quanex Building Products.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Group is recognized with this distinction.

Fortun has 16 years of active AAMA involvement and currently serves on 36 councils, committees and task groups.

"True to his reputation, with all those years under his belt, he hasn't slowed down a step," said Franson. "Mark has risen to management level on the Wood and Cellulosic Composite Material Council, where he serves as First Vice President, as well as on the Door Council, where he has served as Second Vice President."

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – Josh Wignall (EFCO Corporation)

AAMA19-MarketingDistinguishedServiceAward-JoshWignallAt Right-CommendedByMarkFortun_web.JPGThe Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Josh Wignall (pictured at right), director of marketing for EFCO Corporation, by previous recipient Mark Fortun, manager of code compliance at Endura Products.

This award acknowledges a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

In addition to serving on the Marketing Steering Committee, Wignall has served as chair of the Aluminum Material Council Marketing Committee and as the vice chair of the Architectural Products Marketing Committee.

"In just three years at AAMA, Josh has become recognized by his colleagues for his high-energy enthusiasm," said Fortun. "He is a results-oriented wellspring of fresh marketing ideas at the material council level. He is also one of the first individuals to welcome new AAMA members and is a great resource for all new attendees."

Chairman's Award – VEKA Inc.

AAMA19-ChairmansAward-KevinSeilingAtLeft-CommendedByOutgoingChairmanMikeDeSoto_web.JPGVEKA Inc. was honored with the 2019 Chairman's Award, which is given to an AAMA member company by the current or outgoing AAMA Chairman of the Board. VEKA was selected for distinguishing itself over the past two years, with outstanding commitment and dedicated support to the association and the fenestration industry. This award was presented by AAMA Outgoing Chairman DeSoto and accepted by Kevin Seiling (pictured at left).

VEKA joined AAMA in 1984.

More information about AAMA and its activities can be found via the AAMA website,

AAMA is the source of performance standards, product certification and educational programs for the fenestration industry.SM


Filed under: EFCO, Events, FGIA, People

Story Resources

Word documentZipped folder with five photos and news releaseRequest high res photographs for publication